Certification Process

Certification Process


Becoming an RFP® professional requires the completion of four steps.

1. Education

  • Behavioral Financial Planning
  • Financial Planning Process
  • Investment Planning
  • Time Value of Money
  • Tax Planning
  • Estate Planning
  • Insurance Planning
  • Financial Planning Practice

2. Examination

Once you have completed the education program, you can take the RFP® Exam. The examination will consist of one Financial Planning case exam.


3. Experience

In order to obtain the RFP® certification, you need to have at least two (2) years work experience. This experience can be obtained before writing the RFP® Exam.


4. Ethics

Once you become a RFP® professional, you must attest that you have complied with the RFP® Code of Ethics and have met the annual Continuing Education requirements each year. The RFP® designation must also be renewed annually.